Tarte- Rainforest of the Sea

IMG_20160713_104925

If you follow Tarte Cosmetics on any social media platform, you have definitely heard of their Rainforest of the Sea collection. I watch the lovely ladies from Tarte on Snapchat using the products nearly daily and have been wanting to try the skin care products from this line. However, I could not spend so much money for something that I did not know would work well with my skin. So, I was very happy that Sephora had a sampler set to try three of the products.

IMG_20160713_011845

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea sampler and all of the free samples from Sephora. All for $10!

I had been eyeing this set for a while, but just had not gotten around to ordering it. One day, I received an email that said Sephora was giving five samples with purchases instead of their normal three. Plus, it is my birthday month, so I got my free birthday gift with a purchase. This was the perfect time to order this sampler set. It was only $10 and that definitely beats paying nearly $100 for these three products that possibly might not work for me.

First in the set, Marine Boosting Mist, which claims to do 4 things:  prime skin, set your makeup, hydrate, and refresh skin. I am a fan of these types of products and this one did not let me down. I use it before I apply my moisturizer/makeup and then again to set my makeup when I am finished. The retail price of the full size is $25, which seems to be a reasonable price for setting sprays.

Next is the Deep Dive Cleansing Gel. As some of you may know, I have really dry skin that can be sensitive. This cleanser does not irritate my face at all and it makes it feel very refreshed. There is lavender oil in it, which I love, that does make is smell like lavender. So, while this is a fragrance free product, keep in mind that there is a scent to it. I happen to love the smell of lavender, so this is a plus for me, but it may not be for everybody. This also retails at $25.

Last, we have Drink of H2O Hydrating Boost. I was most excited to try this moisturizer. I had heard so many good things about it and I wanted to love it. Unfortunately, this product did not meet my expectations. The first time I used this moisturizer, I took a scoop with my fingertip, rubbed it in, and I could immediately feel stickiness. I thought maybe it would just take a minute to dry or absorb and it would go away. When it didn’t go away, I started reading reviews. Many had this same problem and some said to use less. So, the next few times I used less of the product, but it still left my skin sticky. I don’t know what it was, but on my skin, it just would not absorb which then made my foundation not want to stay put like it normally does. This product may be okay when you are not going to be applying makeup afterwards, but still I just don’t find it very hydrating. I am glad that I was able to try a small size first before I spent the $39 dollars on a full size.

Overall, the mist and cleanser were great and I could see myself purchasing full sizes of those products. However, the Drink of H2O just was not what I expected. Have any of you tried these products or anything else in the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea line? Let me know what you think.

 

-Ashley

 

3 thoughts on “Tarte- Rainforest of the Sea

  1. I tried he mist and it smelled amazing! Really need it in my collection one day! Please check out my latest post I’d you get the chance, it’s a special one, and it’d mean a lot! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

