Back to School with Horizon and BIC

In my case, it is just “to school” since this is my oldest daughter’s first year of school. Only you other mothers (maybe some dads) can understand the mixed emotions that I have right now. However, that is a post for another day. For now, I want to share with you guys a couple of products I received from Bzzagent specifically for my little ones!

So, I have a 2-year-old and a 4-year-old (almost 5) and something that we keep stocked in our house at all time are fruit snacks. They love them and to be honest, they are just such easy little snacks to give when you don’t have the time for anything else.

IMG_20160804_084532

I have noticed Horizon products before, but had never tried them. I have wanted to cut out snacks with food dyes in them for a while now. They are unnecessary and as a parent, you want your kids to consume the least amount of junk as possible. Horizon products are free from preservatives, artificial flavors, and artificial colors. My girls went crazy over the Horizon Fruit Snacks and guess what! They didn’t immediately throw them in the trash because they weren’t colorful enough or they couldn’t taste the artificial flavors, of course. Kids really do not notice these things as much as we would think and it is time that we do away with these nonessential, and possibly harmful, additives altogether. You can still make Hello Kitty shaped fruit snacks without the use of red dye 40 and kids would still love them.

IMG_20160724_200442

Also from Horizon, we received cheddar Organic Sandwich Crackers. To the kids, these were okay. They are not their favorite snack, but I will likely purchase more because I thought they were actually yummy.

IMG_20160804_083433

Next campaign from Bzzagent, when you think school pencils, what brands come to mind? I bet one of them was BIC.  It’s just a name and company that I think most people know and trust. We received BIC‘s new XTRA-Fun #2 Pencils with Stripes to try, and for pencils, we were not let down. These are regular #2 pencils, but with bright, fun colors. My girls love to draw and my oldest is starting to write more and more with school starting. These are definitely more appealing than traditional yellow pencils. The girls were excited to use them for sure. The lead is very strong and reliable which means less sharpening. I like the way they feel when using them. The only downside was that the erasers came out of a couple of the pencils. I do not know if maybe they were being hard on them or perhaps my youngest did it on purpose. So, I would not let that be a major deciding factor.

IMG_20160804_084321

It still hasn’t completely hit me that my little girl will be starting school so very soon, but these products are helping me get ideas of what kinds of snacks to pack with her lunches and what school supplies she might like.

Let me know in the comments what you think about additives in our children’s foods . Also, any tips to ease my nerves about my baby starting school are very welcome!

-Ashley

Leave a Reply

