GlossyBox August 2016

A few months back, I researched who was better for $21 a month subscriptions; GlossyBox or Boxy Charm. I decided that Boxy Charm would personally be better for me and was a better value. However, I did not sign up for either. Then, this month GlossyBox had a deal where you would get 2 free boxes when you signed up. Well, you know how I love my free stuff, so I signed up and got my 3 boxes for the price of 1!

So, the deal was that if you sign up in August, using a code you could get two past boxes for free. I thought three boxes was an awesome deal for only $21. I ended up getting the August, May, and I believe December box. So, I will start with the current month.

First, the box is pretty cute and sturdy, so they are definitely usable to store product.

IMG_20160820_190045-1

De Bruyère – After Sun Lotion Monoï

I will start with this product just to get it out of the way. I have not had the need to use this yet and not sure if I even will.

invisibobble® the traceless hair ring

So, these hair ties are supposed to have a strong hold and leave no crease when taken out. They do work really well at keeping your hair in place and felt good in general. My head didn’t hurt as bad at the end of the day from having my hair up like it normally does. It did leave a crease, but definitely not as bad as normal elastics. There are 3 in a pack and to be honest, as long as you don’t lose them, they are going to last you forever. The big downside of these, it looks like you have a telephone cord in your hair.

Too Faced – Mascara Melt Off

Unless I am in a hurry, I will not use regular makeup remover or wipes on my eyes anymore. My eyelids are very sensitive, so I normally use coconut oil and a Q-tip for my eye makeup, especially the mascara. Otherwise, I am using more harsh removers and really having to rub a lot and pulling out eyelashes in the process. I’m sure most of you know what I mean. This product it pretty awesome, though. It is like an oil that you put on your eyelashes for a minute to loosen the mascara and then wipe off. It is more convenient and just as effective as the coconut oil.

Wella Professionals – Oil Reflections Smoothing Oil

I was a hairstylist for years and acquired a number of hair serums. Plus, I seem to get a new one every month in a subscription box. This one is fine and works well, but not my favorite.

Trifle Cosmetics – Lip Parfait Buttery Lip Cream in Guilty Pug

I adore everything about this product. First, Trifle Cosmetics products are vegan and cruelty free. Their packaging is adorable and their lipsticks tubes are made from cardboard to be able to have such cute pictures on them. Plus, they are inspired by desserts! This shade is gorgeous and the formula is so smooth. Seriously, I love it.

IMG_20160823_150545

Borghese – Fango Active Mud

This is a pretty good mask. It didn’t dry my skin out or irritate it which is an obvious plus. It’s just not my favorite mask.

I thought it was pretty great that there were 6 products in the August box. The value was certainly over the $21

Now, the other two boxes I am not going to go into detail, but the pictures are below.

IMG_20160821_191549IMG_20160821_195417

As you can see, there are a lot of hair and skin care products in the boxes. This may be great for some people. However, I like receiving makeup more. Out of the 16 products in these boxes, I got 2 mascaras, an eye shadow, and a lipstick. The rest were other beauty products and honestly I will likely give away most of them.

I am not putting GlossyBox down by any means. It is technically worth the price and I received the boxes very quickly. It just is not the subscription box for me right now, though I am still going to get the September box. For $21 I would honestly rather try BoxyCharm and I most likely will after all of the holidays.

Have you tried GlossyBox or BoxyCharm? What were your thoughts and do you think they are worth it?

-Ashley

One thought on “GlossyBox August 2016

Leave a Reply

