Play! By Sephora December 2016

img_20161214_111724

“I take the party with me”. Who else was surprised to see a black bag this month for Sephora Play!? I think it is gorgeous and a nice change for the end of the year! So, let’s take a look at the contents, shall we?

Drybar Detox Dry Shampoo

I have never been a huge fan of dry shampoos for myself. I have close to naturally black hair and it tends to make my hair look grey. Also, I must toss and turn a lot at night because when I wake up, the only thing that can save my hair is a good wash. I tried this, though, and for a dry shampoo it is actually pretty great. It does leave my roots a bit discolored, even after rubbing vigorously, but not as much as others I have used. It definitely soaks up the oils well. I noticed that Drybar has a dry shampoo for brunettes, but it has some terrible reviews, so I won’t be trying that.

MAKE UP FOR EVER Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primer (Smoothing)

Before I review this, note that where I live, it has been super cold and dry. I already have a hard time keeping my skin hydrated, so add the winter air and the heat in my house, my skin has been terrible lately. Now, this particular primer is for smoothing large pores and fine lines. I have those problems slightly, but it is not my main skin concern. Redness and dryness are my major flaws, so this isn’t really the type of primer I need anyway. However, I have tried it a couple of times to test it. First, it took a lot more product than my usual primer. This being a much pricier product, that is definitely a negative, but it may have been because my skin is so dry. Second, and more importantly, it did not hold my foundation very well.After just a few hours, my foundation was caked into dry patches and I looked splotchy. I would consider trying their nourishing primer in the future, but not this particular primer.

Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray

 I have only used this once and it was during one of the times that I used the primer from above, so I can’t give a very good review on it right now. It did feel nice and lightweight when I used it, but I can’t judge on the effectiveness.

Bobbi Brown Smokey Eye Mascara

I have been using a lot of different mascaras lately and this has been one of the better ones. I love the brush and it gives me dark, thick lashes. However, it isn’t the best for length. So, I used this and then used some Roller Lash from Benefit (my current favorite mascara) and it worked out great. The price is a bit higher than other higher end brands, so I doubt I will purchase in the future, but it is a great mascara.

SEPHORA COLLECTION Cream Lip Stain (Always Red)

I am not sure why they call this a stain because it is definitely like a liquid lipstick, not a stain. The formula reminds me of Liquid Velvet from Ciaté London, which I reviewed here and the colors I received are very similar as well. I do really like it, though. Like the Liquid Velvet, I love the smooth formula and it stays decently and I am starting to get used to the bolder lips.

Elizabeth and James Nirvana Bourbon

This smells amazing and if anybody knows of a dupe, let me know.

I am adding a picture, though the only thing that you can really tell I used was the lipstick, but I did use everything from this month’s bag for this look.

img_20161214_163807

Overall, a pretty decent bag. I liked the variety and brands this month. There wasn’t anything overwhelmingly wonderful, but I wasn’t disappointed either. I am looking forward to what to seeing what Sephora has in store with the Play! bags in 2017. What would you like to see?

-Ashley

2 thoughts on “Play! By Sephora December 2016

Leave a Reply

