My Favorite Primers

Want your makeup to look flawless and last all day? Of course you do! Using a good primer is just as essential as using “good” makeup, if not more so. Primers smooth the skin, fill in fine lines and large pores, and allow the products to “set” to improve the longevity of your makeup. So, let’s take a look at a few of my favorites. 

Foundation Primers

 Smashbox Photo Finish– $36

This stuff works pretty great and I feel like it is good for all skin types. There are also different varieties such as “Blemish Control” and “Pore Minimizing” if you need the extra help in certain areas. I’d actually like to try the “Hydrating” primer for my dry skin.

e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer– $6

I use the green tone adjusting one, but there are a few different ones to choose based on your needs. This is a great dupe for the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer. It has a very similar texture and works wonderfully. Truth be told, I prefer it over Smashbox as I feel it works just as well and it is much cheaper.

Illuminating Primers

Cover FX Illuminating Primer-$38

This primer helps the skin look more glowy and radiant. I feel it is best for dry skin as it may make oily skin look even more oily. I actually mix this with my e.l.f. primer about 50/50 when I use matte foundation. It keeps my skin from looking too dry and dull.

Becca Backlight Priming Filter– $38

For some reason I always forget about this primer, but it is actually really nice. Like the Cover FX, this primer creates a nice, glowy look. I even use this one sometimes on my cupids bow or as a highlighter. Some use it by itself without foundation to give a natural, healthy glow.

Eyeshadow Primers

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion– $20

This is hands down my favorite eyeshadow primer. I don’t know what else to say about it other than that it makes your eyeshadow last forever without creasing. By the way, eyeshadow primers are essential for making the colors really pigmented and “pop”.

MAC Paints– $22

I used to use this a lot and actually kind of forgot that it existed, which is a shame because it is amazing. I always used “Untitled” and it held my eyeshadow in place all day long.

You guys may know by now, but I am a huge fan of e.l.f. Cosmetics. They are super inexpensive, yet they can definitely compete with high-end brands. This is my go to eyeshadow primer because it is so affordable and I never have a problem with my eyeshadow lasting when I use this…which is like all the time these days.

Setting Sprays

Gerard Cosmetics Slay All Day Setting Spray– $22

I have tried several setting sprays recently and I will be honest, I haven’t had much luck with them. This one, however, is great and I love using this before and after applying my makeup to help lock everything into place.

I am sure there are a ton of great primers that I haven’t tried, but these are my personal favorites. I do want to say, the absolute best way to make your makeup application smoother and last longer, is to start with healthy skin. Within the past year I have been focusing more on skin care and have seen a major change in my makeup application. My skin used to be dry, splotchy, bumpy, rough, etc. and it is no wonder that my foundation would look uneven and cake into the dry patches. Now that I take care of my skin, my makeup looks a hundred times better, even at the end of the day.

So, let us know what your favorite primers are and any other tips you might have to make your makeup last longer!

-Ashley

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Primers

Leave a Reply

