Derma Roller- 200 Needles in the Name of Beauty


img_20170125_103104

Have you ever heard of microneedling? This is where you take a roller with a bunch of tiny needles and roll it over your skin, creating tiny punctures called “microchannels”. Why would anybody do this? Well, in doing this, it triggers your body’s healing process which will replace your old skin with healthy, new tissue. In other words, it stimulates collagen and elastin production and renews skin cells.

Derma Roller System sent me a 1.0 mm dermaroller to try, and even though I have been wanting one for a while, I was pretty scared to actually use it. I mean it definitely looks intimidating!

edited_1485355854946

Finally, I did get over my fear and tried it out. First you need to make sure your faceย is clean, wash your hands, and disinfect the roller with alcohol. Then, you roll 4 times vertically, 4 times horizontally, and then 4 times diagonally, working in sections. To me, it definitely isn’t a pleasant feeling, but it really isn’t as terrible as I thought it would be and it doesn’t take much time to do. Just make sure you use a light hand. Afterwards, my skin was definitely red, as expected. It was back to normal, though, within a couple of hours. It sort of felt like I had a sunburn for a little while, but it wasn’t too bad. I did my chest as well because I do have a lot of acne scarring there. You can see a video of this in use on my Instagram post.

There are different sized needles on the Derma Roller System website for different needs. The 1.0mm can be used once every 3-4 weeks and is supposed to help with cell regeneration, anti aging, anti wrinkles, light and deep scars, pimples and blemishes, pore refinement,ย to enhance nutrient absorption, and cellulite and stretch marks.

Some notes:

  • Do not use any chemical products or apply makeup within 24 hours after using
  • Do not use the 1.0mm more than once in 3-4 weeks
  • Disinfect roller before and after according to manufacturers instructions
  • Do not share your dermaroller with anybody
  • Do not use on active pimples because it could spread the bacteria

I look forward to seeing if this improves my skin at all with continued use. Have any of you ever had ย any microneedling done whether it be professionally or at home? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

-Ashley

7 thoughts on “Derma Roller- 200 Needles in the Name of Beauty

  1. I’ve just had a Treatment called MESO Needling which is an intense form of the Derma Roller. One week on, my skin already shows signs of the benefits but it took 4 days for the Redness to disappear and the feeling while getting it done, though using numbing cream, still wasn’t pleasant.

    I’m going into Cosmetic Nursing and want to experience the treatments I plan to actually perform but I’m not sure I’m raising my hand for this one again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

