Lip Monthly January 2017

img_20170122_001551

I initially signed up for Lip Monthly in March of last year because they had a $5 for your first box deal. (They still have this deal with code LIPLOVER). The bag was okay then with mostly products that I had never heard of, but it was fine for $5. I decided to try another month, which is normally $12.95/month. Again, the bag was just mediocre with nothing that wowed me. So, I decided to cancel it. At the time, I was getting Ipsy and I signed up for Sephora Play! to take the place of Lip Monthly.

I had heard recently that Lip Monthly had improved greatly, so I decided to give it another try. You can never have enough lipstick and I could always cancel if I didn’t like it. So, I signed up again and noticed that their website had changed, which was a good thing because I really hated it before. I also noticed that they allow you to customize some of your products now, which again, I thought was an improvement. I customized my products at the beginning of the month, but then everybody got an email a week or so later saying that they didn’t save and you need to go pick your shades again. Okay, fine, not a huge deal. Then, about the time that the bags should have been shipped, everybody got an email saying that they lost everybody’s address. It was a good thing I seen the email or I would have never received my bag.

By this time, I was definitely fed up with the company and I thought I would surely cancel, but wanted to wait until I got my first bag to decide. The bag came and I absolutely loved the products. Now, I don’t remember what shades I chose when customizing, but everything that I received was “berry” like. I am not usually a fan of “berry” shades, but I really liked these products.

img_20170122_002114

Hola Neon- Liquid Lipstick in Lavender Soul

I had never heard of this brand and it looks like right now, the liquid lipsticks are the only product they sell and if I am not mistaken, they were just released January 1st.I really loved both the formula and shade of this liquid lipstick. It went on smoothly and dried pretty quickly. I am looking forward to seeing more from this company.

img_20170126_122312

Jelly Pong Pong- Liptensity in Necessity

I don’t have a lot of Jelly Pong Pong products, but what I do have, I really like. I think their packaging is very cute and I was excited that there was something from them in this bag. Again, I really loved the formula and shade. I also love the ingredients in this product, which you can see in the link. I can see myself using this lip gloss often.

img_20170122_152657_344

Lord & Berry Matte Crayon Lipstick in Vogue

I am not huge on the pencil or crayon types of lipsticks. It is also probably darker than I would like, so I don’t know that I will use it much. It is very matte and pigmented, though.

Manna Kadar- Lip Locked Priming Lipstick

I lost the card that had the products listed and there is no shade on the actual product, but I either got Aura or Bliss I believe. Anyway, I haven’t used this much, but the concept of having a primer in your lipstick is interesting. It does feel nice and smooth.

Overall, I did like the products for the most part, especially the first two. The value of the bag was over $60, so if you are a lip junkie, this is definitely a great bag. I just can’t get over the issues with the company and honestly I think maybe I just got lucky and happened to love some of the products from this month. I love lipstick, but I think I like variety more, like with Ipsy or Sephora Play! Maybe I will just reactivate every once in a while when I am in the mood to get more lip products. If you don’t subscribe to Lip Monthly, the deal for $5 for the first month is definitely worth it to try the bag out, anyway.

Do you subscribe to Lip Monthly? Let me know what you think about it.

 

-Ashley

2 thoughts on “Lip Monthly January 2017

Leave a Reply

