Ketogenic Diet and Ketone Test Strips


Ketone test strips tell you if there is a concentration of ketones present in your urine. Now, for diabetics, these strips are important and very useful because for them, ketones in their urine could be dangerous. However, I am going to be focusing on using ketone strips to monitor your levels on a ketogenic diet.

First, what is a ketogenic diet? This is a low carb, high fat diet. When I try to explain this to my friends and family, they usually get very confused as to why I would want to consume a lot of fat. I mean, fat makes you fat, right? Wrong. I am not an expert on this or a dietitian or anything, however, I will try to explain this the best that I can and you can do additional research if you are interested.

So, your body normally uses glucose for energy. Glucose comes from carbohydrates in the food that we eat. Most Americans consume way more carbs than we need so the body uses that for energy and the fat that is consumed is stored in our bodies.

When you lower your carbohydrate intake ( I go below 20g/day when on a ketogenic diet) you produce ketones in the liver which come from fat. So instead of using glucose for energy, you use ketones and burn fat. Once your body is using ketones for energy, you are in a state of ketosis.

This is where the ketone strips come in. You can use the ketone strips to help you monitor the amount of ketones in your urine. If you have a surplus, the strips will let you know if you are in ketosis. These strips are very helpful, especially in the beginning stages of a ketogenic diet when you have no idea what being fat-adapted feels like. Plus, it is great to have a visual to keep you motivated.

Healthy Wiser was kind enough to let me try their Ketone Test Strips. According to their description, these strips are 99% accurate. Plus, they have a shelf life of 24 months. The ones I have used in the past only have a 3-6 month shelf life. These strips are very easy to use and read. They are also FDA approved.

img_20170130_110320

From my experiences with diets and weight loss, the ketogenic diet is by far my favorite and most effective. When I stop consuming carbohydrates and particularly sugar, I feel so much better. I don’t have any bloating or sluggishness. Fats help you feel full for much longer than carbohydrates, which in turn helps you easily eat less. Also, refined carbs are addictive and the more you eat, the more you will crave them. If you don’t believe me, cut out all sugar and refined carbs for a week and let me know if you go through withdrawals. I feel terrible for the first week or so as my body is getting used to no sugar and adapting to the fat, but once I am in ketosis, I feel great and I no longer have those sugar cravings. Plus, the biggest reason I like the ketogenic diet is that I lose weight the easiest.

Of course, the ketogenic diet is not for everyone and I encourage anybody considering this change in diet to talk to their doctor and do additional research. I do hope that I have helped in some ways, though, with my personal experiences and if you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

 

-Ashley

Leave a Reply

