Play! by Sephora March 2017

IMG_20170316_162450_010

“Glow Your Own Way.” You may know that I am all about the glow. I love the dewy look and of course, my highlighter! I unboxed this month’s Play! by Sephora box on my YouTube channel HERE, but now that I have had a chance to use these products, I am ready to tell you how I feel about them.

Bobbi Brown: Long-Wear Cream Shadow Stick in Golden Pink

If you got the November bag, you probably got the Laura Mercier shadow stick that was in an almost identical shade. For not liking shadow sticks, I surprisingly liked the Laura Mercier one and I like this Bobbi Brown one even more. It is very shimmery and a great shade, plus it does not budge at all. I used it in the very simple eye look below. All I had to do was apply it to the lower lid and blend it up slightly above the crease. I then used Jammin’ from the Too Faced Peanut Butter and Jelly palette on the outer corner and Jelly underneath the waterline for this super quick, shimmery look.

IMG_20170323_100211

Josie Maran: Surreal Skin Argan Finishing Balm

So, this is kind of a confusing product. It says it can be used at the end of your skincare routine, as a primer for your makeup and at the end of your makeup routine as a finisher. As a primer, it does work fine, not the best. I am way too afraid to even try it after I have put my makeup on, though. If you have used this after applying your makeup, let me know what technique you use and how you liked it.

Glam Glow Glowstarter Mega Illuminating Moisturizer

I would like Glam Glow products a lot more if they would stop using overpowering fragrances in their skincare products! I will use the sample through as I like the feel and the glow of the moisturizer, but I would not purchase a full-sized product. Glam Glow products are pretty overpriced for what they are for the most part and I do not need all the added fragrance on my sensitive skin.

Living Proof: Full Dry Volume Blast

This is sort of a combination of a dry shampoo and a hairspray without really being either. It does dull your hair and change the texture, to give you more volume, but it doesn’t really have much of a hold. It would certainly soak up oils like a dry shampoo, too, but doesn’t leave white residue. I like the tousled look it can give your hair, but wish it had some more hold to it.

Benefit Cosmetics: Watt’s Up! Cream-to-Powder Highlighter

I thought I would like this more than I did. It is much too subtle for me. I haven’t tried yet, but maybe it will be a nice base for my powder highlighter. It may work out well for me in the summer on days where I wear minimal makeup, but want a tiny amount of glow. Otherwise, I won’t be reaching for this often.

I used everything in my bag besides the Bobbi Brown shadow stick in the image below. The Living Proof Spray worked great for creating these curls using my new L’Ange Curling Wand!

IMG_20170318_165835

Chloé: Fleur de Perfum

You guys should probably just give up on me trying to explain anything fragrances. I do like this one, though!

Overall? Meh. I feel like this bag fell a little short. However, it is still totally worth the $10, so I won’t be giving up on Sephora Play! just yet! To sign up for only $10 a month, Click Here!

 

-Ashley

2 thoughts on “Play! by Sephora March 2017

  1. You and I got the same variation of the box! I really loved the Bobbi brown stick, it’s so shimmery and pretty ☺️ I’m probably not going to use the finishing balm because it looks incredibly greasy. The living proof spray is actually a texturizing spray and it’s wonderful, my favorite hair brand hands down. The moisturizer by glam glow was horrid for me and made me break out after one use.. I haven’t been a fan of glam glow this far even their masks aren’t too great imo. The watts app highlighter was OK for me but I’ve tried better and finally the Chloe perfume is actually my favorite fragrance right now (but I don’t own it yet) so I was stoked to have it included!! Thanks for the review 💖

    Like

Leave a Reply

